Archive for December, 2012

Heathered Pearls Album Out Today

Posted by Jakub

Artwork by Michael Cina


Its a very special today for me and i’m glad I get to share it with you all that read the ISO50 Blog. My debut album Loyal under my alias Heathered Pearls came out today. I’ll keep it short since I just want you to listen and enjoy…plus there’s a nicely written description below. Thanks for all the support in the past and more importantly just stopping by the blog and checking out the design and music.

Marbled vinyl (black and white) limited to 600

Unlike some ambient music, Loyal, Jakub Alexander’s release under the Heathered Pearls moniker, embraces the idea of melody with understated but distinct sounds emerging from the loops Alexander uses to construct his tracks. “I wanted to find a world that was built on repetition, erosion and melody because making these songs was about recreating soothing environments.”

The album’s roots lie in a very utilitarian idea: “I started writing what now has become Loyal as a mental break from my personal anxieties,” Alexander says. A study in the hypnotic, calming qualities of music, Loyal is also a tribute to Alexander’s mother and Aunt (featured on the cover) who were crucial in instilling the taste and aesthetics so key to his music. “My mom introduced me to my first ambient record over 10 years ago. Loyal is a response to this.”

This is a record that’s full of delicate beauty. It embraces fragility and lightness, sounding entirely natural despite being created electronically. Tracks ebb and flow into the mix and the songs themselves wash into your headphones like waves receding slowly into silence. The music is unabashedly beautiful with gentle currents of low level tones and gleaming sparkles of synth loops that build and decay.




1 The Worship Bell
2 Beach Shelter
3 Lower Dome
4 Left Climber
5 Steady Veil
6 Raising Our Ashes
7 Ringing Temple (Decreased Version)
8 Precious Dive
9 Docile Touch
10 Endless Tunneling [Bonus Track]
11 Warm Ghost – I Will Return (Heathered Pearls Coasting In Circles Remix) [Bonus Track]
12 Beach Shelter (Loscil’s Grind Remix) [Bonus Track]
13 Lower Dome (Marcus Guentner’s Ahead Remix) [Bonus Track]

We Buy Your Kids

Posted by Scott

I first noticed Sydney-based design duo WBYK’s work on my recent trip to Australia for the Tycho tour. I was at the Metro Theater and the poster for a run of Best Coast shows immediately caught my eye. Once I got home and did a little more research I was really impressed by the depth of work in WBYK’s portfolio. I was also very surprised that their work somehow slipped by me for 7 years. Lots more good stuff over at their portfolio, some of the more exciting poster art I’ve seen in a while.

For those in the Austin, TX area, WBYK are having a gallery exhibit at Mondo through January 5th


Exclusive Stream: Percussion Lab Comp

Posted by Jakub

We couldn’t be more proud to announce the stream of a collection of tracks from the many of the regulars on Percussion Lab over the past 10 years. They’re asking for a suggested $5 for 15 tracks which will go towards bandwidth fees for the radio station and Hurricane Sandy Relief.

Purchase HERE

1. Shigeto – Friends and Lovers 05:16
2. Machinedrum – Demvibez 05:15
3. XI – Villain 05:31
4. Mux Mool – Sympathy 03:54
5. Daedelus – RandD 04:09
6. Calmer – Spirograph 05:11
7. Archie Pelago – Brewer’s Reflection 04:34
8. Ezekiel Honig – Plastic Rumblings 03:41
9. Handshake – Lao 04:02
10. RJ Valeo – You’re the One 03:47
11. Sepalcure – All You’ve Got To Lose 03:45
12. Contakt – Drift 06:17
13. Enoe – The Craze 06:09
14. Lando Kal – Cube 06:38
15. Braille – Rise 05:31

For over 10 years, Percussion Lab has sought out and supported electronic musicians in the greater New York area. Since 2005, we have produced countless live events featuring bedroom and novice producers, close friends, and rising luminaries of the electronic music world. In 2009, we relaunched as a non-profit hosting service for dj mixes – any dj, anywhere in the world, can host a mix for free.

In that span of time, we have never posted an ad on the site. We have taken sponsorship donations in the form of, most often, beer, but never cash. We have used the proceeds from our events to effect site updates and a minmum of regular maintenance.

Over the years, the bedroom producers and shy novices we championed in years past have become some of the most influential names in the world of electronic music. We’re offering this compilation of exclusive tracks as a way of continuing our mission to provide a home for producers and dj’s to host their original music and mixes free of charge, and to be able to continue supporting our local community by bookingg the most forward thinking artists possible for our events. We hope you can help us keep doing all of this, for free, by buying some this complication full of amazing music by some our closest, oldest, and most talented friends.

If you use the site regularly, feel free to pay more. Proceeds will go to hosting and bandwidth fees as well as hurricane sandy relief.

STREAM: Throwing Snow – Aspera

Posted by Jakub

Musically soo attractive and engaging, I wish this EP came out earlier in the year only because you’d see it on more Top Releases of the year lists instead of being shadowed by them.

What really separates Throwing Snow from most producers is his approach of fitting in the softening blows with mixing melody and having a good time in a genre that is quickly swerving into the club scene. He executes one of the hardest things, sharing melodic beat music to friends without you feeling like having to share something clubby or saying “oh here it is, you hear that, wait… there it is.. do you like it? this is the stuff I like, where are you going?”


Anthony Fantano Message to Musicians

Posted by Jakub

Most days since 2007 i’ve posted music from unsigned artists, well known artists, and demos from email links(keyword there is links not attachments) from musicians and readers. Since then not many people or articles have explained promotion to musicians the way Anthony Fantano did it here on his youtube channel, really worth your time if you’re making music and your frustrated with your following.